2022 Sports in Kansas Boys Basketball Player of the Year Finalists Announced

Landon Boss (Osage City, 3A) & Keller Hurla (St. Marys, 2A) named finalists in their class for POY by SIK.

Finalists are selected from a statewide media panel in Kansas of over 30 people that work in sports (radio, television, social media, website) across the state in every corner of the state along with Chet Kuplen, Conor Nicholl and Bethany Bowman of Sports in Kansas who calculate the votes/finalize them. Winners will be announced on the weekend of the 25th-27th

6A Sports in Kansas Player of the Year Finalists

Damare Smith, SM Northwest

Aidan Shaw, Blue Valley

Zaid Dajani, Olathe Northwest

Grant Stubblefield, Blue Valley Northwest

Marcus Ziegler, Wichita Heights

Jordan Brown, Free State

Zaxton King, Lawrence

Mozae Downing, Free State

TJ Williams, Wichita Heights

Cooper Scheck, Dodge City

5A Sports in Kansas Player of the Year Finalists

Kyle Grill, Maize

Juan’Tario Roberts, Highland Park

Henry Thengvall, Kapaun Mt. Carmel

Ty Henry, Topeka Seaman

Isaiah Atwater, Maize South

Elijah Brooks, Topeka West

Jace Linenberger, Hays High

Carson Kieffer, Hays High

Kobe Smith, Andover Central

David Cobin, De Soto

Sam Somerhalder, St. James

Carter Bergman, Basehor-Linwood 

Trevor McBride, Basehor-Linwood

*-5A list longer than usual to several ties in the voting

4A Sports in Kansas Player of the Year Finalists

Easton Ewing, Independence

Christian Bowen-Webb, Bishop Miege

Jack Voth, Buhler

Adriel Smith, Rose Hill

Kellan Simoneau, Rose Hill

Wyatt Spexarth, Andale

Kellan Boylan, Bishop Miege

Seth Madron, McPherson

Trey Moala, Paola

Jaden Hamm, Eudora

Joe Otting, Topeka Hayden

Kaleb Becker, Abilene

3A Sports in Kansas Player of the Year Finalists

Harrison Voth, Cheney

Brett Sarwinski, Galena

Nachs Wahwassuck, Royal Valley

Cason Richardson, Hesston

Jack Duarte, Collegiate

Jake Proctor, Hesston

Brahm Born, Girard

Jimmy Dorsey, Wellsville

Landon Boss, Osage City

Eli Sawyers, Southeast of Saline

2A Sports in Kansas Player of the Year Finalists

Brekyn Ratzlaff, Hillsboro

Keller Hurla, St. Marys

Toby Miller, Lyndon

Brit Dutton, Ellinwood

Dylan Cervantez, Valley Falls

Brayden Meseke, Wabaunsee

Charlie Russell, WaKeeney-Trego

Fred Criqui, St. Mary’s

Anders Dewey, Plainville

Tanner Heckel, Inman

Avery Gatzemeyer, Valley Falls

Matthew Potucek, Hillsboro

1A-I Sports in Kansas Player of the Year Finalists

Derek Hoelting, Olpe

Brady Deges, South Gray

Taylor Cable, Ness City

Damon Redeker, Olpe

Ryan Kuckelman, Macksville

Brent Penner, South Gray

Noah Hastert, Cair Paravel

Makean Hastings, Solomon

Cam Schmidt, Burrton

Chance Hilger, Norwich

Trever Quaney, Burlingame

1A-II Sports in Kansas Player of the Year Finalists

Emmitt Jueneman, Hanover

Jaxson Brandl, Tribune-Greeley County

Scott Price, Bucklin

Bailey Sides, Northern Valley

Peyton Ryan, Central Plains

Alec Carlson, Pawnee Heights

Jett Vincent, Wheatland-Grinnell

Dylan Van Laeys, Logan-Palco

This entry was posted in Basketball. Bookmark the permalink.