Faces in KS: Ella Anciaux

Ella Anciaux of Kapaun Mt. Carmel High School in Wichita is one of the top junior basketball returnees in Kansas for the 2019-2020 basketball season. The 6-foot-4 post is also a rising recruit in the Class of 2021 in Kansas with interest from both the Division I and Division II level.

Anciaux, who has the size alone to get major looks, is back after averaging 20 points, 11 rebounds and three blocks per game as a sophomore over the 2018-2019 season for the Crusaders. She features a solid jump shot and is a matchup nightmare in the GWAL. Anciaux is also a solid shot blocker and good rebounder.

Anciaux has also been a volleyball and softball player for her high school, earning all-league honors in softball.

Kapaun returns just one other starter this season and is off to a 2-3 start this season. However, the Crusaders won their last two games before going into the break.

Anciaux is also an outstanding student at Kapaun where she maintains a 4.15 GPA in the KMC honors program. Her favorite subject is any science class including Biology. She wants to go into the medical field and could see herself being a Pediatrician or Sports Therapist.

In the off-season she plays for the highly regarded Next Level Eclipse, featuring some of the top players across the state.

Kapaun, led by head coach Billy Graf, returns to play this Friday as they host Wichita East. We caught up with the outstanding student athlete below in the latest Q&A of Faces in Kansas.

This feature is presented by 1st Impressions Depot, proud to support KMC Athletics.

This feature is presented by Kapaun Mount Carmel Boys and Girls Basketball. 

How did you get involved in basketball and sports?

My parents involved me in sports including basketball, soccer, and tee ball from a very young age. Over the years, I began playing more sports including volleyball, but I also developed a unique passion for basketball.

What are your goals this season?

This season I want to continue to grow myself as a player and teammate. I want to continue to develop my overall game and maximize my strengths.

Do you guys have a shot to make a run this year?

Yes, I think my team has a shot to make a run this year. In order to do that, we are going to have to value individual possessions and take care of the ball. I think we can accomplish this as we gain more experience throughout the year.

What makes you such a force as a player?

Without a doubt, my height is a large factor for me. Offensively, I have good hands which allows me to be able to catch passes well on the move. I also have good touch which allows me to finish at a high percentage around the rim. I think that something that makes me a more difficult person to guard is that I also have a good jump shot that other girls my size may not have. Defensively, I have good rebounding and shot blocking instincts, allowing my team to secure more possessions.

Favorite thing about Basketball?

It is hard for my to pick one thing to say is my favorite about basketball. Basketball is my passion, is my stress reliever, and my outlet. Through basketball, I have met so many people, travelled places that I hadn’t before, and learned so many things about myself and others. Basketball has taught me teamwork, how to overcome adversity, and the value of hard work.

Do you play any other sports, tell us about that, what other positions do you play?

I played volleyball my freshman year, and I was a middle hitter. I also played softball both my freshman and sophomore years, where I was a pitcher.

What did you and the team do in the off-season to become better?

  • weights
  • open gyms
  • conditioning
  • summer league / scrimmages
  • several girls played club ball as well

What interest are you seeing at the next level and what are your plans?

I am receiving a lot of interest from many different programs at both the D1 and D2 level.  I am enjoying the process of learning about many of these programs and trying to identify places that would be a good fit for me.

Favorite thing to do when you aren’t playing sports?

One of my favorite things to do is spend time with my family and friends. I have grown up as the oldest of 6, so I love going to watch my younger siblings play their sports.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

  • graduating med school
  • starting my career as a pediatrician or sports therapist

Favorite subject in school, what type of student are you, GPA?

My favorite subject is science/ biology. I would say that I am a good student. Grades have always been something that are very important to me and my family. I have consistently made A’s and B’s throughout my education, and I am in the honors program at Kapaun, where I currently have a 4.15 GPA.

Who is your role model?

My 2 biggest role models are my parents. They have taught me the importance of love, faith, family, hard work, and so much more. I aspire to be like the amazing people that my parents are.

Best place to eat in your town or the surrounding area?

There are many good places to eat, but one of my favorites is Ziggy’s pizza.

One thing the average person wouldn’t know about you?

I’ll give you 2 things: 1) I am very afraid of heights 2) I love exploring new cities and getting to see places and things that I have never seen before

This entry was posted in Basketball, High School. Bookmark the permalink.